Shakespeare Examinations:

Grade 1 – Grade 8


Medal Grades:

3, 6, 7 and 8


UCAS Points: 8 – 30 subject to pass mark

Grades: 6, 7 and 8

For all lovers of Shakespeare, history, and all those wanting to understand his plays this exam is a must. As well as increasing self-confidence and developing stage techniques, vocal techniques and spatial awareness these exams will introduce Learners to a vast imaginary world. Developing the skills to speak the language with fluency and meaning as well as learning about Elizabethan playhouses and the development of theatre in Shakespeare’s lifetime will encourage a lifelong love of the bard. Anyone wishing to study English or Theatre Studies at University will benefit from these exciting exams as well as those hoping to pursue a career in the theatre.

These exams can be interesting for students who have a passion for theatre, and for those studying GCSE and A Level English.

Exams will cover at least one scene from a Shakespearian play and discussion with the examiner.

Learning and Development

NEA’s Shakespeare examinations allow Learners to develop self confidence, stretch their imagination and creativity and understanding of Shakespeare as set out in the NEA Syllabus through:

  • Characterisation
  • Stage Craft
  • Creative and Interpretative techniques
  • Understanding of dramatic structure and narrative used by Shakespeare
  • Vocal Techniques
  • Physicality
  • History
  • Love of literature