Acting Examinations:

Preparatory – Grade 8


Medal Grades:

3, 6, 7 and 8 for Solo and Duologue



Performers ANEA


UCAS Points: 8 – 30 subject to pass mark

Grades: 6, 7 and 8

Learning how to develop a role by discovering what has gone before in the play and even imagining what the character was doing before the play is essential. Sight reading is always a useful skill whatever the future holds, mime and improvisation are introduced gradually as the Learner moves up the grades.

Progression through the grades takes in the important periods of drama and the higher grades carry UCAS points. There is a degree of intellectual involvement as the reading of the plays is a must for grade four and above.

Solo or duologues can be taken in these exams and there is a Diploma for those wishing to continue into a career in the theatre.

Learning and Development

NEA’s Acting examinations allow candidates to develop technical, interpretation and communication skills as set out in the NEA Syllabus through:

  • Imagination and creativity
  • Stagecraft
  • Sight Reading
  • Vocal Techniques
  • Spatial Awareness
  • Physicality
  • Characterisation